Blog post

August ECA Best Content Runner-Up | Look Out for These Ingredients If You Want to Sell Vegan Confectionery

September 14, 2017

Congratulations to Matthew E., for this Best Content Runner-Up win for August! Check out his article and its analysis below.

One of the fastest-growing lifestyle choices in recent years is veganism. As it becomes more popular, it makes sense for retailers to cater to this growing demographic to attract greater sales and increase business.  If you sell lollies, there's an opportunity to really stand out from your competitors. There aren't that many confectionery retailers who currently consider vegans in their displays, meaning there's a niche ready for filling. Just creating a section in your shop with vegan-friendly products could give your business a nice little boost, particularly as vegan word-of-mouth is an impressive force.  In order to do so, of course, you'll need to know what's suitable for vegans and what isn't, as it's not always obvious like milk, eggs or honey. Here are the confectionery ingredients to watch out for.  Gelatine  Often found in chewy jelly confectionery, gelatine is derived from animal collagen found in various body parts. Neither vegans nor vegetarians will eat gelatine. There are plant-derived alternatives available, but the low cost of animal gelatine means it's very common.  Carmine or cochineal  This deep red substance is used as a food colouring. It's obtained by boiling a specific insect, the cochineal, and it is quite often used in various types of lollies. Although synthetic colours are becoming more common, carmine is still quite widely used.  Lecithin  Lecithins have various applications in food production, but they're commonly used as emulsifiers in chocolate. Nowadays, soy lecithin is often found, which is suitable for vegans. However, if it doesn't specify that it's from soy, it might originate from milk, eggs or other animal sources.  Shellac  Also known as confectioner's glaze, shellac is used as a coating for many lollies and chocolate, giving it a shiny finish. It's a substance excreted by female lac bugs to protect their eggs, and vegans don't eat it because some of the bugs are killed when it's collected. There are vegan alternatives available, but they're nowhere near as common as shellac.  Beeswax  Vegans don't eat honey or other substances produced by bees, including beeswax. Although it's more often found in candles and polish, beeswax is sometimes used as a coating on chocolate and other types of confectionery.  Lactose and whey  Although you'll be on the lookout for milk if you're checking for non-vegan ingredients, it's easy to miss these two dairy derivatives. Lactose, a sugar, and whey, a byproduct of cheesemaking, are both found in confectionery from time to time, so make sure you look out for them too.

Assignment

Vertical: Food Suppliers

Keyword: confectionery suppliers

Analysis

Authority:

The writer does a nice job explaining the origins of these confectionery ingredients and how they are then used in making confectionery. Through his explanations it’s easy to see why vegan confectionery shouldn’t include those ingredients.

Readability:

Each section is short and to the point. The formatting and section headings make sure you know exactly what’s coming. As a result, the sections flow together nicely and the simple language makes it easy for any reader to understand the issues the audience faces.

Organization:

The organization of this article is about as basic at it gets. And basic organization is a good thing! It means readers fully focus on the content and aren’t distracted by disjointed flow.

Grammar:

Excellent.

Use Value:

Vegan food options continue growing, but there’s a long way to go. This article helps bridge the gap within the vegan confectionery industry. Not only is it helpful to those who make chocolates and sweets, but also it could help those trying out a vegan diet decide what is or is not suitable to consume. When you address popular problems, your articles inherently gain use value (that is, as long as they address the subject well).

Ideation:

When you see a keyword like confectionery suppliers, obviously you’ll think about candy, chocolates, and other sweets. In this case, the writer went beyond the basics of making candy or chocolate or simply enjoying sweets. Those are potentially important and interesting topics, but they’re also quite common. By focusing on a trending audience with specific needs related to vegan confectionery, the controlling idea links to popular food issues. Fortunately, the supporting points maintain strong connections to the controlling idea, helping the article fulfill its purpose.

By WritersDomain

WritersDomain is a team of in-house writers, editors, and support staff.

Previous Post Next Post

1 comment

  • Farewell to Summer with the August ECAs – WritersDomain Blog

    September 25, 2017 at 9:01 am

    […] Check out Matthew’s post here. […]

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *